The laws surrounding the growing and use of marijuana for medicinal purposes have recently changed in Florida, something that will be of interest to anyone who’s ever wanted to use it in this way. The laws intended to regulate how the drug is used, and monitored in a patient. If medical marijuana is something that you’re already using, or want to use, then here’s everything you’ll need to know about how SB-8A affects you.
What Has SB-8A Changed?
In essence, SB-8A has created regulations around how marijuana is grown, who can use it, and how Florida marijuana doctors can prescribe the medicine. It’s designed to ensure that those who use medical marijuana are getting a safe and healthy service from their health care providers, as well as making sure that the drug is properly controlled. This brings marijuana is brought in line with how other medicines are controlled.
How To Get A Prescription For Medical Marijuana
As per SB-8A, if you feel that Florida medical marijuana could help you, you’ll need to visit a doctor that will consider it as a treatment for you. This could well be your family doctor, so it’s worth asking if they use it as a treatment before looking elsewhere.
Once you visit the doctor, they’ll make an assessment of your condition, and what could be used to treat it. If more traditional treatments haven’t been tried yet, they may decide to try them before they move onto medical marijuana. If they have already been used, and they feel it could be helpful, then they’ll prescribe it as a treatment for you.
Medical Marijuana Cards In Florida
If a doctor has approved you to use medical marijuana, then they can certify you for medical marijuana right there and then. This is a change from the 90 day waiting period that used to be in effect in Florida. However, it’s worth noting that you’ll need to be in the same room as the doctor in order to get this certification.
Once you have your card, you’ll need to be reevaluated every 30 weeks by a doctor. This is to ensure that your medication is working and to make adjustments as needed. Of course, if your symptoms change, then you can go back sooner and be treated if need be.
Buying Medical Marijuana
Once you have your certification, you’ll able to buy your marijuana at a dispensary near you. You’ll only be able to buy from a dispensary anywhere in the State, and you’ll need some documentation before you’re allowed to buy.
SB-8A has also legislated how marijuana should be administered in patients. Right now, it may be ingested or used in ‘vaping’ equipment. It’s important to note that smoking marijuana is still not a legal way of using the drug, even more, medicinal purposes.
As for the supply you can hold, it has been legislated that you can have a 70 day supply at any one time, with 2 refills. This means in all you can have a supply for 210 days. After this time period, you’ll need to be re-examined by a doctor before you can get a new supply.
As you can see, SB-8A has created new legislation about medical marijuana is prescribed and supplied to patients. The design of this bill is to ensure that patients have safe access to the drug, and are properly cared for while they’re taking it.
If you want to know more about medical marijuana, then the best thing to do is talk to a qualified doctor about medical marijuana. They’ll be able to tell you whether it could work for you, and how you can go about obtaining the drug for yourself.